Lost Girls by Angela Marsons

Lost Girls cover

Book Description

Two girls go missing. Only one will return.
The couple that offers the highest amount will see their daughter again. The losing couple will not. Make no mistake. One child will die.

When nine-year-old best friends Charlie and Amy disappear, two families are plunged into a living nightmare. A text message confirms the unthinkable; that the girls are the victims of a terrifying kidnapping.

And when a second text message pits the two families against each other for the life of their children, the clock starts ticking for D.I. Kim Stone and the squad.

Seemingly outwitted at every turn, as they uncover a trail of bodies, Stone realises that these ruthless killers might be the most deadly she has ever faced. And that their chances of bringing the girls home alive, are getting smaller by the hour…

Untangling a dark web of secrets from the families’ past might hold the key to solving this case. But can Kim stay alive long enough to do so? Or will someone’s child pay the ultimate price?

 

My Review – 5 stars

The third in the D.I. Kim Stone series, following on from the brilliant Silent Scream and Evil Games.

I discovered Angela Marsons through Twitter, via Mel Sherratt and Caroline Mitchell.

I’ve read a few from the Bookouture crime authors and have loved them all.

Great writing and a fab plot. I was captivated from the start.

One of those books that you want to read at every opportunity. And I did.

Using the Kindle app on my phone I squeezed in reading whenever I could!

I even woke in the night with it on my mind.

 

The strong character of Kim shines through, even when she thinks she may be out of her depth. I believe in you Kim!

Her past is mostly hidden in this book, but having read the previous ones I was aware of how driven she is when there are kids involved.

I loved the part where Bryant brought her dog over to see her, it calmed me down too and gave me a breather.

I could feel the tension as each message arrived from the kidnappers, and the changing relationship between the parents.

The kidnappers were both very disturbed individuals but in different ways. Symes was horrific.

Towards the end I felt I was in the car with Kim, Bryant and Dawson. I was running and searching with them with my heart pounding in my ears.

There were some unexpected twist and turns, and it was fantastic.

 

I recommend this book 100%, and all the others in series.

One thought on “Lost Girls by Angela Marsons

Leave a Reply

