After The Lie by Kerry Fisher

After the Lie cover

Description

Your past will devastate your family. But your lies could destroy them. What would YOU do?

Sometimes a lie can split your life in two. There is “before”, and there is “after”. Try as you might – you can never go back.

When Lydia was a teenager, she made a decision that ruined her family’s life. They’ve spent the last thirty years living with the consequences and doing their best to pretend it never happened.

Lydia’s husband, the gorgeous and reliable Mark, and her two teenage children know nothing about that summer back in 1982. And that’s the way Lydia wants it to stay. The opportunity to come clean is long gone and now it’s not the lie that matters, it’s the betrayal of hiding the truth for so long.

When someone from the past turns up as a parent at the school gates, Lydia feels the life she has worked so hard to build slipping through her fingers. The more desperate she becomes to safeguard her family, the more erratic her behaviour becomes. But when the happiness of her own teenage son, Jamie, hangs in the balance, Lydia is forced to make some impossible decisions. Can she protect him and still keep her own secret – and if she doesn’t, will her marriage and family survive?
What is Lydia’s terrible truth? Once the secret is out, you can’t put it back …

From the author of THE ISLAND ESCAPE comes a powerful and heartbreaking story.

 

My thoughts – 5*

It was emotional to read, and very funny at times.

The characters were incredibly deep and relatable.

The lies that get told, just to cover up things that need to be kept covered up.

Everything in Lydia’s life was running pretty smoothly until Sean McAllister turned up.

Lydia started to unravel, as things from the past began to creep back in.

Sean’s wife, Katya, was friendly with Lydia at first, but she had major issues with trust. And she was a naturally jealous person.

The relationship between their children, Jamie and Eleanor, had me worried!!

I personally related to Lydia, having a teenage son myself. Especially the social media fears.

I think we all have a mother who says some of the things that Dorothy says. And has that disapproving look pass quickly across their face when their grandchildren say something that isn’t acceptable to their straight-laced, old fashioned outlook.

Lydia’s husband Mark was an absolute saint, but it shows how suspicions and bad feelings between couples get out of hand. Of course he had no idea why Lydia didn’t have the same enthusiasm when he was doing some work for the McAllisters

I did feel for Lydia’s father. There were some tender moments there, after all that had gone on in the past. I felt his strength too.

Some of the ‘committee’ ladies comments had me laughing, how tactless they could be. I think I’ve overheard them with my own mum and her fellow committee members.

I just love these dog-related quotes (Mabel is the dog) and I think they’ve all happened to me :-

“I couldn’t even tell the dog off without kissing her head and giving her a biscuit afterwards”

“I never allowed myself to believe that I was ill enough to merit a day in bed, too beset by guilt over unanswered emails, dirty laundry and Mabel’s ‘When is it walkies?’ whimpers”

“I wanted to back away like Mabel did when I tried to make her eat a piece of cucumber”

“…..her eyes widening then hooding over every time I said a word beginning with ‘w’ that didn’t translate into ‘walk’”

I read The Island Escape, and that was a 5* too. Give them a go if you’ve not read any by this author before, you won’t be disappointed.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the early review copy.

Publication date 29th April 2016

Pre order here http://www.amazon.co.uk/After the Lie

 

Leave a Reply

