Play Dead by Angela Marsons

Play Dead cover

Description

The dead don’t tell secrets… unless you listen.

The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess.

Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her team discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime.

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover? And who is next?

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?

The latest utterly addictive thriller from the No.1 bestseller Angela Marsons.

 

My Review – 5 stars

The fourth in the D.I. Kim Stone series, following on from the brilliant Silent Scream, Evil Games and Lost Girls

Great writing and a fab plot. I was hooked from the start.

I feel we get to know a little more about Kim every time, but she is still 99% work.

Her past is mostly hidden in this book, but there were a few snippets relating to her childhood.

And things came out about her foster parents that I didn’t know about before.

I love the working relationship with Bryant. He knows her so well, and he makes me laugh with the things he says. Along with Stacey and Dawson, who I would like to know more about, they make a really good team.

Keats, I like him too.

And the very, very tiniest hint of something with Daniel is there too.

Tracy Frost, I could never warm to her no matter what!

The usual gruesome scenes are pictured vividly in my brain…urgh!! I liked the idea of the body farm though, being a bit of a science geek myself.

There were some unexpected twist and turns.

I like that the author leaves me suspecting the wrong people, leading me down the path to…..a different person.

I relish the waiting for a new one in the series, and the excitement when I get my hands on it.

I recommend this book 100%, and all the others in series.

Thanks to the author, Bookouture and NetGalley for the early copy.

Publication date 20th May 2016

Pre order here Play Dead

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Play Dead by Angela Marsons

Leave a Reply

