Dear Mother by Angela Marsons

Dear Mother cover

Description

Three sisters. Three childhoods ruined. One chance to heal the scars of the past.
After their death of their cruel and abusive mother, estranged sisters Alex, Catherine and Beth reunite once again.

Alex, the youngest, is a bitter, unhappy woman who refuses to face the horrors of her childhood. Finding solace in a bottle, her life is spiralling dangerously out of control.

Eldest child, Catherine, has strived for success, despite her difficult upbringing. But behind the carefully constructed façade lies a secret that could shatter her world forever.

Beth, the middle child, bore the greatest burden. But having blocked out the cruelty they suffered, she remained with their mother until her death. Now she must confront the devastating reality of the past.

Brought together as strangers, the sisters embark on a painful journey to heal themselves and each other. Can they finally put their terrible childhoods to rest and start over?

An emotional, heart-breaking and compelling novel for readers of Diane Chamberlain, Amanda Prowse and Kelly Rimmer.

Previously Published as The Middle Child

My Review – 5 stars

From the author of crime novels the D.I. Kim Stone series, Silent Scream, Evil Games, Lost Girls and Play Dead.

It was an emotional story, rather than the crime novels this fab author is known for.

After reading The Forgotten Woman I was keen to read this one too.

 

A really emotional story covering alcohol dependency, child abuse and a broken family.

I found it a very powerful read, not realising these things go on in families.

It makes me feel incredibly lucky to have had such an easy and happy childhood.

I can’t really write a review without feeling the tears come again, so I’ll leave it at that.

The Christmas day scene will be with me for a long time.

 

Thanks to the author, Bookouture and NetGalley for the review copy.

 

Order here Dear Mother

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s