The Girls Next Door by Mel Sherratt

the-girls-next-door-cover

Description

One warm spring evening, five teenagers meet in a local park. Only four will come out alive.
Six months after the stabbing of sixteen-year-old Deanna Barker, someone is coming after the teenagers of Stockleigh, as a spate of vicious assaults rocks this small community. Revenge for Deanna? Or something more?

Detective Eden Berrisford is locked into a race against time to catch the twisted individual behind the attacks – but when her own niece, Jess Mountford, goes missing, the case gets personal.

With the kidnapper threatening Jess’s life, can Eden bring back her niece to safety? Or will the people of Stockleigh be forced to mourn another daughter…?

A terrifying, compelling, police procedural which will thrill fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.

 

My Review – 5 stars

It was a pleasure to meet DS Eden Berrisford. I loved her dress sense and style. I was a bit of a mod back in the day myself, so I felt really at home with her. Loved her checkerboard roof Mini.

And I loved the cover, I’ll have to dig out my red mac.

I recognised some of the places in the book from Mel Sherratt’s Estate Series. Especially the Mitchell Estate. However, most of the characters in this story were from the nicer part of Stockleigh. The houses were more upmarket and nicely presented.

I think the story was excellent, and I never guessed how it would go.

There were some vicious attacks on local teenagers. No-one was sure if it was connected to the incident with Deanna Barker. Her family are known undesireables, and no strangers to trouble.

When Jess goes missing it gets personal, as she is Eden’s niece.

There is a rollercoaster of emotions, as Eden and her team question the victims and suspects of the assaults.

Are they connected cases? I can’t say….

Eden tries to hold her sister Laura together as she faces the worry of Jess’ disappearance.

It was breath-holding in parts, as false information caused problems.

There were some unexpected twist and turns, and I loved it.

I recommend this book 100%.

Mel Sherratt is one of my favourite authors.

I’ve enjoyed everything she has written and thoroughly recommend her books. There’s no denying that I’m a big fan of Mel Sherratt and her alter-ego Marcie Steele

#TeamSherratt

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my review copy in exchange for an honest review.

Publication Date 27th October 2016

Get you copy here The Girls Next Door

2 thoughts on “The Girls Next Door by Mel Sherratt

Leave a Reply

