The Watcher by Ross Armstrong

the-watcher-by-ross-armstrong-cover

Description

She’s watching you, but who’s watching her?

Lily Gullick lives with her husband Aiden in a new-build flat opposite an estate which has been marked for demolition. A keen birdwatcher, she can’t help spying on her neighbours. Until one day Lily sees something suspicious through her binoculars and soon her elderly neighbour Jean is found dead. Lily, intrigued by the social divide in her local area as it becomes increasingly gentrified, knows that she has to act. But her interference is not going unnoticed, and as she starts to get close to the truth, her own life comes under threat. But can Lily really trust everything she sees?

My Review – 3.5 stars

Being a science technician myself I take detailed notes and make charts and tables of my findings, so I found the logging of all the details by Lily quite interesting. I was trying to remember which flat everyone lived in, and in which building. I didn’t really need to do that.

The author writes in very short sentences which I found a bit off-putting at first, but I got used to it.

I didn’t connect with Lily much. I knew she was troubled but I didn’t know why. Was it things from the past, or things from the present? Was she imagining some of these things, or were they real? I wasn’t sure as I was reading.

It’s a dark story, and most of the scenes are set in the dark. Either at night, or a darkened building or room. It adds to the atmosphere.

I can’t liken it to anything I’ve read before.

I did enjoy it, but I found it easy to put down. It didn’t grip me.

I’d be interested in future books by this author though.

Many thanks to Cara at Harper Collins, Harlequin (UK) Ltd, and NetGalley for the ARC copy in return for an honest review.

Publication date 29th Dec 2016

Buy here The Watcher

2 thoughts on “The Watcher by Ross Armstrong

  1. I didn’t enjoy this much… I think it was because of the main character’s voice and the writing’s structure… I don’t know, I wish I could’ve liked this more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

