Born Bad by Marnie Riches #bookreview @Marnie_Riches @AvonBooksUK

Born Bad cover

Description

A powerful, darkly comic novel set in the criminal underworld of Manchester from bestselling author Marnie Riches.

The battle is on…

When gang leader Paddy O’Brien is stabbed in his brother’s famous nightclub, Manchester’s criminal underworld is shaken to the core. Tensions are running high, and as the body count begins to grow, the O’Brien family must face a tough decision – sell their side of the city to the infamous Boddlington gang or stick it out and risk losing their king.

But war comes easy to the bad boys, and they won’t go down without a fight. So begins a fierce battle for the South Side, with the leading Manchester gangsters taking the law into their own hands – but only the strongest will survive…

My Review – 5 stars

A dark setting, but funny too.

It’s a story told from many points of view. From the North and South side gangs of Manchester, and their families. From the glitzy to the downright grubby.

Despite the violence I loved the friendship aspect of it, and the way they interacted. There were some lovely parts, and some frankly disturbing parts!! The characters had a really good depth and I got to know everyone.

I visualised the whole book really well. I felt I was there with them which wasn’t always a good thing, hehe. At the M1 Club I felt I was back at The Hacienda.

It touched on some sensitive subjects and tackled them brilliantly…people trafficking, prostitution, drug abuse, murder!!

I learned about different cultures too, which is always a bonus.

This is my first read by Marnie Riches and I’d definitely recommend it.

The writing is excellent, well-paced and kept me hooked.

Conky McFadden is the best name ever 🙂

Thanks to the publishers Avon Books UK, and NetGalley for my copy in exchange for an honest review.

Publication date 9th March 2017

Get your copy here  Born Bad

One thought on “Born Bad by Marnie Riches #bookreview @Marnie_Riches @AvonBooksUK

Leave a Reply

