5* Review for Dead Souls by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #bookreview

Dead Souls cover

Description

(Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series Book 6)

The truth was dead and buried…until now.
When a collection of human bones is unearthed during a routine archaeological dig, a Black Country field suddenly becomes a complex crime scene for Detective Kim Stone.

As the bones are sorted, it becomes clear that the grave contains more than one victim. The bodies hint at unimaginable horror, bearing the markings of bullet holes and animal traps.

Forced to work alongside Detective Travis, with whom she shares a troubled past, Kim begins to uncover a dark secretive relationship between the families who own the land in which the bodies were found.

But while Kim is immersed in one of the most complicated investigations she’s ever led, her team are caught up in a spate of sickening hate crimes. Kim is close to revealing the truth behind the murders, yet soon finds one of her own is in jeopardy – and the clock is ticking. Can she solve the case and save them from grave danger – before it’s too late?

My Review – 5 stars

The sixth in the D.I. Kim Stone series, continuing in the same way….brilliant and gripping.

I was captivated from the start, there is just no let-up in the content. Yet again it was one of those books that I wanted to read at every opportunity, fast-paced and blood pressure raising!

I love Kim’s working relationship with Bryant, he knows her so well, but this time she is forced into working with D.I. Travis from a neighbouring force. The two forces team up on a boundary crossing case. Stone and Travis share a troubled working relationship going back a few years. Of her usual team, Dawson was paired up with Bryant on a different case, an interesting partnership and not always plain sailing.  And Stace was featured so much more than her usual role of being attached to a desktop pc. Still love the spelling out in the local dialect 🙂

I think the story was excellent, and I never guessed how it would go. I didn’t realise there are so many forms of hate crime, lots of forms prejudice that I just didn’t know about. There were some truly horrible scenes, and the author doesn’t shy away from telling it how it is.

With each book of Angie Marsons I find out so many new things….about the diversity of everyone. I feel like I learn something new with every book. It even makes me think about the things that I say, not even realising that I could be coming across in the wrong way.

I recommend this book 100%, and all the others in the series.

Angie Marsons is definitely one of my favourite authors, I just think the books are fantastic.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my review copy in exchange for an honest review.

Publication Date 28th April 2017

Get you copy here  Dead Souls

Leave a Reply

