#blogtour Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer #bookreview @carolewyer @bookouture

Secrets-of-the-Dead-Blog-Tour

 

Blog Tour 1st June 2017

Today it’s my stop on the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s new release, Secrets of the Dead. I’m delighted to be part of it.

Also check out my fellow blogger on today’s stop, Kaisha at The Writing Garnet

My Review – 5 stars

I love Carol Wyer’s dark side, the story is so well crafted.

I think it flowed better than Little Girl Lost, the first outing of DI Robyn Carter.

This could actually be read as a stand-alone, but knowing a bit about her life from before is better, how and why she is tough and strong-willed.

Robyn’s instinct is telling her something isn’t so cut & dried about a seemingly natural death in a sauna at a posh countryside spa.

Then another death is discovered, with a strange receipt. She feels there could be a link, but can’t find one. When yet another body is found, again with a receipt, she knows she has a serial killer in her midst. But how are these deaths linked? This is what she needs to suss out.

It was nice to see her cousin Ross again. He is a private investigator, and an ex-copper. She calls on him to help her out when her boss tells her to butt out of the original death at the spa. She promptly sends him and his wife for a couple of days of pampering….and snooping of course.

It’s a cleverly told story, and the suspense was delivered perfectly along the way.

I enjoyed it as the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle came together as there seemed no obvious link between the victims at first.

I felt I was working on the case myself!

Well-paced and exceptional writing. A pleasure to read. It had me gripped and I took every opportunity to read just one more chapter.

I was even checking out silver Fiat 500’s for back window stickers….that’s when I knew it was getting inside my head!!

Thanks to the publishers, Bookouture, and NetGalley for the copy in return for an honest review.

A big thank you to Kim Nash for inviting me along on this blog tour x

Publication date 30th May 2017

Secrets of the Dead – Amazon links

UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2pAm1cU

US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2q17Df2

About the book

Secrets-of-the-Dead-Kindle

(Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series Book 2)

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Meet the Author

Secrets photoAs a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.

Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

 

http://www.carolewyer.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolEWyer

https://twitter.com/carolewyer

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “#blogtour Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer #bookreview @carolewyer @bookouture

  1. Stef, you’ve made my morning! Firstly, thank you for being part of the SECRETS OF THE DEAD book tour. Secondly, thank you for such a fantastic review that made me want to make little squealling noises as I read it, and thirdly, thank you for making me grin widely. The idea of you looking out for Fiat 500s is wonderful! I love it. Nothing motivate sme more than reading reviews like yours. I shall now get back to Robyn who is working another case that might have you looking over your shoulder for more than vehicles. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s