The Silent Ones by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookouture #BookReview #TheSilentOnes

The Silent Ones cover

Description

This morning, I was packing up lunches, ironing, putting on the laundry I should have done last night. Now my precious daughter is accused of murder.

When ten-year-old cousins Maddy and Brianna are arrested for a terrible crime, Maddy’s mother Juliet cannot believe it. How could her bright, joyful daughter be capable of such a thing?

As the small village community recoils in horror, the pressure of the tragedy blows Juliet and her sister’s lives apart. And things get even worse when their daughters retreat into a self-imposed silence. Can anyone reach Maddy and discover the truth before her fate is sealed?

Juliet is crushed. Nothing will ever be the same for her darling girl. But she knows that to find out what really happened that day, she and her sister must unlock the secrets of their own terrible past, a past they swore never to speak about again …

The most unputdownable psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the bestselling author K.L. Slater. If you love The Wife Between Us or Gone Girl, you’ll be totally hooked on The Silent Ones.

My thoughts

My first book by K.L. Slater. Why haven’t I discovered her before? I’ll be certainly looking out for more.

A book full of twists and turns with an excellent ending that I never saw coming.

DI Conor Neary brought the two girls into the station following the awful incident involving 81 year old Bessie Wilford, a neighbour and friend of their grandparents.

The girls seem to have a pact of silence and say nothing.

There is evidence, but the girls still won’t speak. Dana, a family therapist, is brought in to help. She notices little things, not just with the girls but with their parents and wider family. Little looks between them. And she felt all was not well.

The way the villagers turned against the family was painful to read, but the way news spreads these days with social media is frighteningly fast.

It’s an intriguing story, and also surprising in parts as things from the past are dragged back to the surface.

Punishment, innocence, guilt. It has it all.

I thoroughly recommend this book.

All my reviews are quite short and concise as I’m here to show off the book rather than my own writing ability.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the review copy in which I give my honest opinion.

Publication date 24th July 2019

Get your copy here:-

Amazon.co.uk The Silent Ones

 

The Dare by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture #bookreview #TheDare #The DareDetectiveNatalieWardBook3 #NetGalley

The Dare cover

Description

(Detective Natalie Ward Book 3)

Jane’s daughter is a good girl. What is she hiding?

When thirteen-year-old Savannah Hopkins doesn’t come straight home from school, as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm.

Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward whose daughter Leigh is the same age as Savannah. Soon Natalie’s worst fears are confirmed when the teenager’s broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points towards a local recluse, but just as the net is closing around him, one of Savannah’s friends, Harriet, is reported missing.

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours.

But Natalie isn’t quick enough for this killer, and she is devastated to find Harriet’s body on a fly tip a day later.

Caught up in the case, she takes her eye off her own daughter and when Leigh goes missing after school she knows she must be in terrible danger. The clock is ticking for Natalie. Can she catch this killer before her little girl becomes the next victim?

This gripping rollercoaster of a read will have you up in the small hours turning the pages. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare.

My Thoughts

As I always say, I love Carol Wyer’s dark side!

I’m a big fan of this author, and I can see how much she’s grown into the crime novels with each new book. They just keep getting better and better.

This is one hell of a clever story.

When children go missing it always makes me put myself in the situation. I imagine the worst, and in books the worst usually happens. So when Savannah didn’t come home from school I was fretting a bit. And I had good reason to, as the body is found not far from her home. When another girl, Harriet, went missing I had the shivers. Was there a link? There are a few suspects, and Natalie and her team trawl through CCTV trying to find both the girl’s and the suspect’s movements. There were some people bending the truth, some red herrings thrown in. I was suspicious of everything and everyone. There are people known to both victims. It gave me lots to think about, drawing my own conclusions and suspicions. Interviewing the suspects was extremely frustrating for Natalie, were they telling the truth or covering it up? When Natalie’s own daughter went missing I was worried sick. Could Natalie and her team uncover the truth before another life was lost, this time one very close to them.

A good time to start reading Carol Wyer’s books if you haven’t already, starting with The Birthday and then Last Lullaby. These DI Natalie Ward books are very good!

Well-paced and great writing. Extremely tense and a pleasure to read.

I look forward to the next one!

All my reviews are quite short and concise as I’m here to show off the book rather than my own writing ability.

Thanks to Carol Wyer, Bookouture, and NetGalley for the review copy in which I give my honest opinion.

Publication date 25th April 2019

Get your copy here:-

Amazon UK   The Dare

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer.
Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com

Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite (@BCopperthwait) @bookouture #bookreview

Her Last Secret cover

Description

Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.
They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.
They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.
They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them destroy them all?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated. 

My thoughts

Starting at Christmas Day, then going back a couple of weeks had me hooked. I was keen for the story to get back to Christmas Day and find out what had happened. Looking at the family with their lovely house, cars, watches, posh schools etc you’d be thinking that here was a successful businessman with the perfect life. Wrong! Things were not so rosy in the Thomas household. It drew me in, keen to get to the bottom of each family member, their friends, their colleagues, their schoolfriends. Dominique’s nightmares were awful, so vivid.

Thoroughly recommend this book, a read filled with tension!!

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

Publication date 13th October 2017

Get your copy here

UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2eOtJtF
US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2jhcE0G