Suddenly Single by Carol Wyer #review #SuddenlySingle @carolewyer @canelo_co

Suddenley Single cover

About the book  

When bestselling romance author Chloe Piper’s marriage implodes a week before Christmas, she flees her cheating ex and the village gossips for the solitude of the newly built Sunny Meadow Farm and the company of her hapless dog, Ronnie.

But Chloe is soon pushed out of her comfort zone. Because with a lively development building crew – headed up by charming Alex – and a larger-than-life neighbour determined to make Chloe’s love life her pet project, Chloe finds herself in a whole new world of chaos…

This enthralling romantic comedy of self-discovery and new beginnings is perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Colleen Coleman and Marian Keyes.

My Thoughts

After the breakdown of her marriage Chloe is keen to move out of Appletree and find somewhere peaceful and away from it all. Appletree is the setting where she based her best-selling novel, mostly on pub gossip from her ex William. There had been a few rumours on the identity of novelist C J Knight, so a good time to move away.

She finds her new home at a new development of old farm buildings called Sunny Meadow. The name is idyllic as the setting….countryside, reservoir, winding lanes and a dark starry sky. I want to live there too. Chloe keeps to herself. She has a close friend, Faith, who is also her publisher. She lost her family in an accident and since then she suffers with social anxiety disorder. This holds her back a lot, avoiding crowds and social gatherings. She’s happy to sit at home in her pyjamas, writing and shopping online. Since her break up she’s suffering with writers block, and her submission date for her next novel is getting nearer. A bit of a panic!

Back to Sunny Meadow. It’s quite a small and exclusive development. Her nearest neighbours pop over and introduce themselves, Eleanor and Fairfax, and before she knows it she’s been invited to their house, drunk far too much, and signed up to their singles club. She’s dreading the first activity day and makes herself ill with worry. I won’t give any spoilers for The Singleton Club, but the activities were a lot of fun and are a big part of the story. It also pushed Chloe out of her comfort zone in terms of meeting new people. Alex was another neighbour, son of Thomas the site developer. He was really nice. William, the ex, reappears and he was a real creep! Not forgetting Ronnie, her faithful dog. I loved him.

Funny, entertaining and easy to read too with a satisfying conclusion.

All my reviews are quite short and concise as I’m here to show off the book rather than my own writing ability.

Thanks to Carol Wyer and Canelo for the review copy in which I give my honest opinion.

Publication date 8th April 2019

Amazon UK   Suddenly Single

ISBN: 9781788632775

Meet the authorcarol wyer - for what happens in france blog tour

Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian. In 2017 she stepped away from writing comedy to the “dark side” and embarked on writing a series of thrillers which became best-sellers and have been translated into several languages. She won the 2015 People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction, and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth . Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published alongside journalism in many magazines.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolEWyer/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/carolewyer

Website: www.carolwyer.co.uk

Blog: www.carolwyer.com

 

5 thoughts on “Suddenly Single by Carol Wyer #review #SuddenlySingle @carolewyer @canelo_co

  1. Loved the review and totally agree with Shalini and echo her comment (apart from the bit about having the book LOL) Thank you for starting off the Suddenly Single tour with such a positive post – honestly I felt so down today until I read this. Don’t know what’s the matter with em – I should be cheering – Suddenly Single is out and you enjoyed it *punches air* xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s